Feeling the love….

My daughter Cieara is at camp right now; she left a week ago last Sunday, and will be there until August 18. We sent with her a stack of notecards, addressed envelopes and stamps because we knew she’d want to write home and let us know she’s ok and having a great time.

Got a note from her today (11 days after she left) – it said:

“I was on a rafting trip all day so I did not know I needed a letter to get into dinner. Will write a proper one later. Having lots of fun”

Its really heartwarming to know that she sent this only to get food. Sigh…I guess I won’t be surprised to get 9 of the cards back unused (out of the 10 I sent) when I unpack her trunk when she gets home. Or maybe they will threaten to withhold food again so I get one more in the next two weeks – I can only hope!

I’m still feeling the love for my Soleil. I finished the lace part, and now I’m on the stockinette section. I’m going to take the advice I found on the various blogs, and make it two inches longer, so I won’t do the decrease section after 3 rows like the pattern says, but after 2 inches. I love this pattern – I can’t wait to work on it and have been working on nothing else but it – which is really unusual for me.

IMG_1464

I mentioned months ago that I had initially bought a Kromski Minstrel spinning wheel, but then bought a Lendrum at Maryland Sheep and Wool. I decided that I don’t need two wheels so I I’m going to sell the Kromski. If you know of someone that is interested, either email me at jmknitATyahoo.com or leave a comment. I can be flexible on price. Its a great wheel – I just don’t think I’ll use two.

5 Responses to Feeling the love….

  1. kitkatknit says:

    Once I bought my Lendrum DT last year, my Joy just sat around lonely… I know how it goes.

  2. aija says:

    I am laughing at the “note” in the mail 🙂

    If you have a local craigslist, you may want to post your wheel there…

  3. Poshyarns says:

    I love the story about your daughter, sounds like she is having a fantastic time.

    Your Soleil is so beautiful, I love the colour. I hadn’t noticed this pattern on Knitty so thanks for the link, it is such a lovely shape.

    Thanks for your comments on my Arabella.

  4. Amber says:

    Your daughter’s note made me chuckle. At least she’s honest! 😉 My oldest son is only 4, but he’s recently entered the stage where he is NOT happy to see me when I pick him up from his pre-school’s summer program. Sigh. I guess I should get used to it.

    Soleil is looking lovely!

  5. lobstah says:

    Too funny. At least you know she’s having fun and keeping busy 🙂

Leave a Reply

