Vacation Stash Enhancement

As I mentioned yesterday, I did a bit of stash enhancing while on vacation. The first yarn store I went to was Knitting Addiction – again, a great yarn store. Jeanne (owner) was really nice and helpful. I initially went in to get a ball of sock yarn as a vacation souvenier, but ended up with a bit more than that! In fact, Jeanne gave me a 10% discount because I bought enough to qualify for a yarn junky discount – how can you not like that!

OK, this first batch I’m really excited about:

IMG_1384

Its three balls of Plymouth Baby Alpaca Brush in light green, light blue and a really nice rasberry type varigated. There is also a skein of hand-dyed yarn – Ellyn Cooper’s Yarn Sonnets Texas Big Horn in the Rose Collage colorway. Its 55% mohair/45% wool. Colors are just beautiful. But its the ball on top that I really fell in love with. Its also from Ellyn Cooper and its called Metallo and its 24% silk/50% mohair/25% rayon/metallic. Colorway is Iris Swirl. Its just so beautiful – I fell in love with it as soon as I saw it. It was a bit pricey, so I put it down again – but I kept on going back to it. I asked Jeanne what could be knit with it and she showed me a shawl. So we picked out the other yarns to go with it. I can’t wait – very easy knit, but shows the beautiful colors. I am so excited about this yarn!

OK, onto more stash – next thing I bought was this:
IMG_1386

Two balls of Plymouth Fantasy Naturale 100% cotton (on the right), and two balls of Plymouth Daiquiri (on the left). They had the cutest pattern for a little backpack made up with this – so I bought it to make for Cieara. I started it and have about two inches to go before I start decreasing. The straps are I-Cord. Its so cute I just may have to get some more yarn in a different color to make one for me.

IMG_1387

OK, what else did I get….oh yeah, I did buy some sock yarn:

IMG_1381

Artyarns Supermerino – I’ve heard so many good things about this yarn that I had to try it!

IMG_1380

Wildfoote in the colorway Rock N Roll. Larry picked this out for a pair for him. On a side note, I’m always surprised at how he likes wild colors for socks. I read how a lot of men like very subdued colors, but not Larry…seems the wilkder the better.

The final thing I bought was a skein for my One Skein Exchange pal….I really like this so its going to be hard to put it in a package this week and send it to her.

IMG_1383

South West Trading Company Pheonix – 100% soysilk! Its so soft and smooth…I’m going to have to get some for me.

I think that’s enough for today. Next post I’ll show what I got from the other store, and from my One Skein pal.

4 Responses to Vacation Stash Enhancement

  1. aija says:

    Great stash enhancement!

  2. LindaB says:

    Welcome home! Great to hear your vaca was just what you hoped for…& those yarns!WOW!

  3. Rebekah says:

    Looks like some great stash enhancement was accomplished.

  4. deirdre says:

    Beautiful yarns, Jeanne! But I want to know – what was the really cool but out-of-character thing you did on vacation????

Leave a Reply

