Finally done!

I’m finally done with my Simply Lovely Lace Socks from Interweave Knits Spring 06 – finally! I really like how they turned out, and I hope the recipient does too. But I must say – I’m not sure I’d make these again. They seemed to take forever. I started these back in May, and just finished them last night. Towards the end it took a major effort to knit them. I’m not sure why – the pattern is interesting, etc but I just couldn’t wait to be done.

Anyway, here they are:

IMG_1163

Pattern: Simply Lovely Lace Socks
Yarn: Misty Mountain Sock Yarn
Dyed by: Me! Cherry Kool-aid
Size 1 DPN
Started: 5/22/06
Finished: 6/26/06

IMG_1164

My Mom didn’t bring any knitting with her so I left my Celtic Braid socks with her so she’d have something to do. I called her yesterday – she told me that I made a mistake so she frogged them back 2 inches. Hmm….I don’t recall making a mistake….

Last night when I finished the socks, I basked in the glow for a few minutes and then started thinking about what next. I decided on the Gentleman’s Fancy Sock from Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage socks. The pattern calls for 460 yards of sock yarn – most of mine is less than that. I rummaged through the stash, and saw the yarn I just bought from Hello Yarn – perfect! It has 500 yards. So I started last night (and have one row done)….I really love this yarn. The colors are amazing. She’s putting new yarn for sale today, and I just may buy a bit more. Very good yardage for the price, and I can’t say enough about how beautiful the colors are. I think these are for Larry, but he wants to see it knit up a bit before he commits (and if he doesn’t like it, I really don’t mind keeping them!).

IMG_1159

IMG_1161

Forgive the pictures….not the best, but it was 5:45 a.m. and the light was really off.

Only 4 more working days until my vacation (not that I’m counting or anything!)….

6 Responses to Finally done!

  1. lobstah says:

    Well even if the socks were a pain they look great! Too funny about your mom!

  2. Rebekah says:

    Great socks, I love the colors and the pattern.

    Isn’t it the best, picking out a new project.

  3. Emma says:

    The socks look beautiful!

  4. Amber says:

    I’ve been thinking abou knitting the Simply Lovely socks ever since I got my Spring IK. Seeing yours has cinched it for me — they’re gorgeous!!

  5. Amber says:

    I’ve been thinking abou knitting the Simply Lovely socks ever since I got my Spring IK. Seeing yours has cinched it for me — they’re gorgeous!!

  6. ChelleC says:

    I love your socks. I have just started a pair myself. Very nice color you’ve dyed up there.

    Also, I have a question. How did you get your Current Projects progress bars onto your page? I have blogspot but don’t yet know how to do that. Thanks, Chelle

Leave a Reply

