Sunday Dyeing

I decided to do some dyeing today, so I got out some Wensleydale Longwool Top that I purchased from Halycon Yarns when I bought the dye. I had .5 pounds, and decided to give handpainting a try. I mixed up 2 cups each of the cranberry and blueberry One Step Country Classic dyes.

I was stupid and didn’t buy squart bottles or anything when I bought the dyes, so I decided to use my turkey baster (and yes, I’ll buy a new one before Thanksgiving!)

IMG_1059

No exact mathmatical measuring for me – I just put the dye in random places. Its a good thing that the kids were home – they helped by wiping up spills. I wouldn’t do this again with a turkey baster – I kept on blopping it on the floor (sure, it could be me and not the turkey baster, but this time I’ll blame the equipment).

When I was done, I had a lot of white left, but decided that was ok. The whole thing reminded me of a dessert – like pound cake with strawberries and blueberries.

I wrapped them up carefully, and tried to keep the blueberry sections separate from the cranberry. Then into the pot they went.

20 minutes later they were done. I let them cool down a bit, and then rinsed them. I used the instructions for rinsing from the Twisted Sisters Sock book and they were very good – worked exactly as described (without felting!).

The fiber is outside right now drying – I can’t wait for them to dry so I can spin this up (yes, yes, I know I have the cranberry fleece to spin!). I was surprised to see most of the white was gone – there is just a little in some of the thicker parts of the fiber. I think it will be fine once its spun up.

I will say – I really need to take directions a bit more seriously. I’ve read in every dye book I’ve bought that you really need to wear gloves. I did wear them for the dyeing part, but threw them out – and didn’t have more for the rinsing part. My hands are a very nice shade of purple now (Everytime I look at them they seem to be getting worse). I think work is going to be interesting tomorrow. Maybe I should say its an allergy?

7 Responses to Sunday Dyeing

  1. Allena says:

    no it’s the turkey baster! they leak dye everywhere!

  2. janna says:

    Call work and tell them your hands have turned purple — and it might be contagious!

  3. lobstah says:

    Oh my, I love those colors! Very beautiful!

  4. Rebekah says:

    Great colors in your fiber, not so great on your hands. At least it’s not your entire body like Veronica in Willy Wonka. (What can I say, I love that movie) Oh wait it wasn’t Veronica, what was her name? Oh well.

  5. Jeanne says:

    Her name was Violet Beauregard – I love the movie too (and looked like her for a bit yesterday!)

  6. Linda B says:

    Hey there Jeanne, have you resorted to bleaching your hands yet? 🙂 Check out dollar stores to stock up on gloves ’cause I know you’ll be dyeing again soon!

  7. ozknitter says:

    Great colours! Have you had a chance to spin it up yet? How’re your hands now? Still purple?

Leave a Reply

