My own yarn!

Do you remember this?

No? How about this?

I finished spinning this roving about a week ago, but I was procrastinating plying it because I like spinning more than plying. But this was taking up 2 bobbins, so today I decided to just do it. I bought the roving from The Drafting Zone in Bowie, MD, and it was about 8 oz. I loved spinning it, and today I found that I actually enjoyed plying it! Plying on the Lendrum was so different than doing it on the Kromski – it was so smooth! I didn’t have tangles because of the tensioned lazy kate, and I think it went pretty well.

It turned out to be roughly 390 yards of DK/sport weight – some sections are a bit “chunky” but overall I’m getting more consistent so I’m going with DK weight 🙂 . I’m a bit worried that its a little under plyed, but the skein didn’t twist at all when I hung it. We’ll see what it does when its dry. (Click on the picture to see it bigger)

Here it is hanging outside – its a little curly from its bath

I love it – I love the way the colors came out. Some sections are blue/green, while others are just light blue or dark blue. I am going to use it to make the Waves Shoulder Shawl from Ewenique Fiber. I bought the pattern a week or so ago, and I think this yarn would be perfect. It calls for fingering weight, so I’ll have to adjust a bit. I wish I was done with all of my other projects, so I can start this (maybe I need to stop the “what’s next” section because I never seem to get to those projects!).

I did finish one of the lace socks today, and one Trekking sock. I’ll cast on for both tonight and try to finish them by next weekend. Still working on the shawl. Next post, I’m going to come clean about the shawl. I made a mistake on it, and didn’t realize it so now I’m not sure what to do. I think I’m about 1/2 way, and the mistake is way back. I am trying to figure out a way to fix it, and may ask for help! But that’s next time.

Have a good week!

6 Responses to My own yarn!

  1. Ada says:

    Beautiful yarn, can’t wait to see the finished shawl!!

  2. del says:

    Beautiful colors!

  3. Terri says:

    Gorgeous blues. Will look lovely knitted up. :o)

  4. Amber says:

    Ohhhh, that’s just beautiful! It will make a gorgeous shawl!

  5. schrodinger says:

    What a great looking yarn, and if you had so much fun spinning and plying it, just imagine how much fun it will be knitting with it!

  6. Anonymous says:

    Great site loved it alot, will come back and visit again.
    »

Leave a Reply

