Socks and sons..

Its been a few days since I posted – mostly because my camera batteries died, and I didn’t have replacement ones (bought a pack, but they disappeared). Lots of knitting this week…

Cable/Rib socks – I frogged them – put them on my counter, picked them up, needle stuck on something and came out and the cable ripped back about 2 inches. I can pick up stiches in socks, but not cables. I wasn’t thrilled with the pattern, so I frogged it and restarted in the Cable and Rib socks – much better. Actually like the yarn now.

Started the Knit Picks Fair Isle socks – love it! I’ve always done a heel flap, and this pattern calls for a short row heel. I did it! OK, frogged it once, and I have to say its a bit wonky, but I was very nervous about doing this, and it worked. Hopefully the more I do it, the better I’ll get. I’ve also realized that I need to learn how to knit continental – knitting fair isle by dropping the yarn and picking up the next in my right hand is just too slow. I tried to do continental, but just not getting it. My sister knits continental so I’m going to ask her to teach me. But I love the pattern, and think its a great way to use up leftover sock yarn.

Last night we went to see Andrew in his school musical. This is his first play/musical, and it was really surprising to see him sing and dance. He was very cute, and we enjoyed the play. Watching him, I couldn’t help but remember him as a little boy, and I have to admit, I got a little misty eyed. Even my sister must have felt the same way – at one point, she turned to me and said “Remember when he wore a cape all the time?” (he did – wore the cape 24/7 for months). He’s grown up so much in this last year, and is starting to really blossom. He’s so grown up now, and as much as I’m glad he’s independent, strong, smart, funny and focused on attending college sometimes I wish I could have the cuddly little 6 year old that insisted on being called Simba. Just for a few minutes. Just long enough to hold him on my lap and tell him a story. Here he is – he’s the tall one (second from left) and part of the quarter in “The Music Man” (not the best picture – sorry – couldn’t use my flash).

4 Responses to Socks and sons..

  1. Larjmarj says:

    Nice job on the sock! Colors are great.
    I have yet to conquor the short row heel. It’s on my list. 😉

  2. Wonk says:

    Ahh I almost went with that design, but decided on the tulip socks instead. You’ve done a beautiful job! Short row heels are frustrating, but I think they might be easier than flaps when you get the hang ot it.

  3. trek says:

    I love that sock!

  4. Rose says:

    Totally adore the pattern & colorway. Great looking sock! Just re-learned the short row heel & love it.

Leave a Reply

