Flashing

Today is April 1, and the start of the Sock Yarn Addicts Club knitalong, so its time to own up and show my stash. I actually counted it last weekend, and was completely shocked at how much sock yarn I’ve accumulated – so much so that I tortured Abagail with three emails with different counts (apparently it was so much that it shut down my brain). So here is the majority of it:

That’s my cat, Molly, who volunteered to help me display the stash. OK, well, maybe not volunteer – actually she was a bit irritated at having her afternoon nap interrupted while I put yarn around her. I had to be very slow – towards the end she was getting that look on her face, and in fact, took off as soon as I took the picture.

But of course, knowing that I can’t buy sock yarn for the next 3 months resulted in some last minute stash enhancement…and I must say, stash enhancement of the best kind! Lorna’s Laces, Socks that Rock and Mountain Colors Bearfoot….ahhhh…

This is Lorna’s Laces in Black Purl – not a typical colorway I’d buy, but I was drawn to it. Its just beautiful. I googled last night looking at what other people have done with it. Saw a lot of socks with the colors pooling – I don’t like that, so I’m going to have to find a pattern that minimizes that. But isn’t it yummy?

So how much do I have? 47 skeins. Enough for 26 pairs. And most of it for me. Who knew?

I started knitting a pair with yarn from the stash on Thursday; I’m using Cherry Tree Hill Supersock and the pattern is Cable Rib socks from Interweave Spring ’05. I’m not sure I am thrilled with this; the cable isn’t really popping out – the yarn is nice, but it just sort of there, just sort of blah. But I have talked myself into the “well, everyone needs a pair of basic blue socks”, so I’m going to finish. I thought about frogging it, but not sure if there is a pattern out there that would be better for basic blue yarn.

I had to think about what I’m going to do next and I think this is my list:

KnitPicks Fair Isle Socks
Cable and Rib Socks – not sure of yarn yet
Toe-up socks (first time and going to use Wendy’s generic pattern) with Socks that Rock Falcon’s Eye
Another pair of Jaywalkers — not sure of yarn
Pomatomus – not sure of yarn
Fan and Feather – not sure of yarn

I think that will keep me busy for a bit, eh? Especially considering I’m still finishing a sweater, and need to get a shawl done by May….

12 Responses to Flashing

  1. Cynthia says:

    Jeanne, Beautiful freaking sock yarn and I love the cat hiding in the yarn like he is going to start stalking something.

    I loooooove that Black Purl and can’t wait to see what you make with it!

    Excellent stash flash!

  2. Pat K says:

    Good yarn. GOOD cat. Enjoy the knitting.

  3. Anna says:

    Ahhh…don’t be tortured…that’s not so much!!! I thought I had a lot but it turns out I’m not even in the ballpark for our little club! I have to admit, I did a little last minute shopping in advance of the deadline. I also have the feeling I will be the first one to cave. I’m having trouble and it’s like…the second day. Huh.

  4. Julia says:

    Hey Jeanne, NICE STASH! And a great to-do list to go with it. The good thing about having a, uh, well-sized stash is that it’s really inspiring. I’m not only addicted to acquiring new yarn, I’m constantly casting on for new socks as well.

    Wendy’s toe-up is great and easy to follow, I use it for my ‘Fun Nation’ socks.

  5. wendy says:

    Great colorway for the Lorna Laces!
    Did you see the sock pattern named The Green Sock? You might like it. I can’t believe your cat stayed long enough for your great sock stash picture…too cool. I think I’m going to try a lace sock pattern next.

  6. Leah says:

    Very nice sock yarn stash. Black Purl is one of my favorite LL colorways (my other fav is Vera). I made Ella with Black Purl Shepherd Sport, and just love it!

  7. Allena says:

    pretty yarn drool!!!

  8. I’ve been dying to get my hand on some of that black purl… the pooling is part of the effect, to help minimize knit a couple rows and alternating from each side of the skein or each skein.. Love all those yummy yarns you have and the kitty….;o))

  9. Tawana says:

    Very nice sizable sock yarn stash! I like that you a list of future sock projects. I think that I will have to do that. So I can knit down some of my sock stash in the coming months!!

  10. lobstah says:

    Thanks for your comments on my sweater! I am in love with the photo of your kitty–so cute. The Black Purl yarn is amazing. But I am a huge fan of purple so of course I would love it.

  11. JennyRaye says:

    I want some of that Falcon’s Eye myself!

  12. trek says:

    Hang on to that solid blue yarn. I am writing a lacy pattern specifically for solid yarn that I named Arizona Lace Socks. After I finish the first pair, one of my local peeps is going to test knit it and then…–>

Leave a Reply

