New Yarn

So as I said last time, I joined the Sock Yarn Addicts Knitalong, and starting 4/1 I can’t buy anymore sock yarn, but need to knit from the stash. Our first assignment is to count the stash, and then take a picture of it. I looked at my yarn inventory spreadsheet last night – there are a few skeins I forgot I had…hmmm…I do have a bit of sock yarn!

But something happened this week. Was it the knowledge that soon I can’t buy any? Or was it just coincidence that I found some great sales? Whatever the reason, I had a hard time resisting buying yarn this week.

OK, my first purchase was another skein of Socks That Rock to finish my Jaywalkers. I also bought Falcon’s Eye

I haven’t received the yarn yet, but can’t wait to get it.

Then tonight I saw a post on Knitter’s Review that Elann had this on sale:

and

The yarn is Schachenmayr Nomotto Regia 4 Cotton Surf Color; its a cotton/wool blend, and the colors are perfect for summer. OK, so I don’t really wear socks in the summer, but it seemed like a very good excuse! And you can’t beat the price.

I did see a link on Knitter’s Review to a online store that had Mountain Colors Bearfoot – I really want to try this yarn. But I think I’m done for the week. Oh, but I really liked this yarn from blackbunnyfibers on Etsy. Fortunately, between the time I was drinking coffee this morning, and the time I checked tonight, someone else had bought it. But I’ll keep checking – you never know – she may have more!

I’m off work tomorrow, and will try and resist the urge to browse around online, and actually get some socks off the needles, and on the recipients feet.

4 Responses to New Yarn

  1. margene says:

    I tried to not buy sock yarn for 3 months! It was so hard and I just couldn’t stand it…only 2 weeks to go and I crashed. Good luck;-)

  2. Susan says:

    You will like the regia surf. I’ve used it and it wears well and the wool gives it a nice “bounce”. You have some beautiful sock yarns in your stash!

  3. christine says:

    I’ve got a 4/1 cutoff too, and it has been so hard! So many things out there are tempting me right now – I caved last night and bought some of the clearance yarn at KnitPicks. I couldn’t resist! But now I’ll be making the fair isle pattern that they are offering, along with lots of other socks!

  4. Cynthia says:

    You will love that STR yarn – very nice! The Regia is also very nice. I am part of SYAC and I have also been stocking up; not that I needed to! At this point I cannot imagine not buying any wool for 3 months but let’s hope there is power in groups!

Leave a Reply

