Best laid plans…

So if you look at my right side bar, you’ll see the next socks I wanted to make are the Knit Picks Fair Isle…I bought the yarn and pattern for them, and its sitting there waiting for me to finish my Jaywalker socks. I’ve been working on the Jaywalkers and realized on Friday night that I was going to run out of yarn. I have about 2 inches on the foot done, and a tiny ball of yarn left. I made them in the larger size and there is no way that I’m going to have enough to finish (although I did try to knit really fast for a while hoping that somehow it would make the yarn last!).

I had my knitting group yesterday, and needed something to bring to work on. I always try to bring something fairly mindless so I can knit and talk without looking at the pattern. The Cheesy Puff sweater is coming to the shoulders, so I didn’t want to bring that. Jaywalkers were obviously out. And I didn’t want to start the Fair Isle socks because I’ve never knit Fair Isle and didn’t think that trying it while distracted was a good idea.

So I decided to start Nancy Bush’s Rib and Cable socks from the fall ’05 Interweave. I had bought some Koigu from Rosie’s Yarn Cellar in Philadelphia, and decided to use that. The pattern is simple, and I got a lot done yesterday. I’ve decided not to do the heel in the pattern; these are for my husband, and I think a standard heel works better for him. I have to say, I love this yarn. I thought the yarn was green, but once I started knitting, I realized it has a very subtle varigation. It has a bit of blue, light green….very nice. Once I started seeing the pattern of the cables in the yarn, I really wanted to keep the socks for me, but unfortunately, had told him I was knitting for him.

Here is where I am:

Close up of cables….I really like this pattern!

This morning I ordered one more skein of Socks that Rock in the Fire on the Mountain colorway to finish my Jaywalkers. I don’t think I’ll use much of it, so I’ll have to figure out what I can do with the leftover yarn. I do like the colorway, so I’m ok with having more than one pair of socks in it (or I suppose I could give one away….). One of the women at my knitting group was knitting a pair of toe-up socks in STR. She was using the Falcon’s Eye colorway, and it was beautiful. I’m normally drawn to bright or jewel-tone colors, but I really liked her sock. Falcon’s Eye is a white and khaki green….very soft, but very nice. Since I had to order one skein, I figured I may as well combine shipping, so I ordered Falcon’s Eye as well. I just joined the Sock Yarn Addicts knit-along and after 4/1 I can’t buy any sock yarn, but need to knit from the stash, so I wanted to get this yarn before the knit-along started (and no, its not cheating – its not 4/1!). I really want to learn how to knit toe-up socks, so maybe I’ll use the Falcon’s Eye for that.

Leave a Reply

