Current projects and new yarn!

As my works in progress bars outline, I’m currently working on three things. Well, actually, I’m working on one mainly because my 2006 resolution was to finish all my current projects before I started anything else.

The project that I’m primarily working on is the Cheesy Puff sweater from Knitty for my husband. I’m done with the back, and one sleeve, and am getting close to the end on the front.

The yarn is Debbie Bliss Merino Chunky; I bought it from Elann. The pattern is very easy; good for knitting at night when I’m tired. Apparently I wasn’t very bright the day I calculated how much I’d need for this sweater – I finished the back and the sleeve and realized that I had 5 balls left. Out of the 12 that I bought. Not a good sign, especially since the yarn was discontinued. Fortunately, I found more on eBay. Whew! The color is a bit different in the picture; its actually a beautiful teal. I really like the yarn, but I’m going to be very glad to finish the sweater.

I’m also working on a pair of Jaywalker socks. I always have a pair of socks on the needles so I can bring them with me. I’ve finished the first sock:


And here is where I am on the second:

The yarn is
Socks that Rock in the Fire on the Mountain Colorway. I love this yarn; the colors are beautiful and I love the way it feels. I love the pattern; and it looks great with this yarn. So why haven’t I cast on for the second one? I find that the second sock is always the hardest for me (in fact, I think in my stash I have a lonely sock that’s been waiting since November for me to finish its mate). But I have resolved not to cast on for another pair until I finish my Jaywalkers.

I also have about 5 inches of a shawl started; the pattern is from KnitPicks, and the yarn is Sock Landscape. I haven’t actually worked on this shawl for months; I look at it occasionally, but haven’t been moved to pick up the needles and knit. The pictures I took turned out horribly – maybe its a sign. I’ve been thinking about frogging the whole thing and starting over. Looking at it now, I see a lot of mistakes, and I think it will drive me crazy if I continue.


So that’s it – that’s what I’m working on. Hoping to get the sweater done by next weekend. Sewing it together isn’t something I enjoy doing, but I really want this done so I can start something else.

I went to a local yarn store yesterday to pick up some Manos Del Uruguay that I had ordered. While I was there, I also picked up some sock yarn (of course – I have so much sock yarn that its crowding me out of my bedroom).

Isn’t it nice? Its from Schaefer Yarn, and handpainted. The colors are very autumnal, but I couldn’t resist it. Its a big change from the blues that I normally buy. Not sure what I’m going to do with it yet. Any ideas?

3 Responses to Current projects and new yarn!

  1. Abigail says:

    Welcome to the blgging world:)
    Your sock is so pretty. I can’t wait to see the finished pair. Buy the way, you are accepted into the Sock Yarn Addicts club. Be at peace.

  2. where didi u find those project counters? they look great… i’m a little new to this blog thing… thanx…

  3. Christine says:

    I am using my Anne yarn to make a shawl pattern that I got from Rosie’s Yarn Cellar. It is their circular (pi?) shawl and it has been a fun, easy lace knit! I love it and can’t wait to get it off the needles so I can wear it! Anne has been a great yarn to work with!

Leave a Reply

