Traveling Woman – Handspun Version

I know I’ve been away from blogging for a bit, and I have a lot to catch up on, but I thought I’d go out of order and show you what I finished and then next post I’ll show you where I’ve been.

So my last post was on August 15, and I show you pictures of the handspun I did – remember?

2536

I think I mentioned in the post how happy I was with the yarn, and that I really couldn’t wait to use it – and so I made a shawl!

2568

I finished this last week, and finally blocked it yesterday and got out bright and early this morning to take some pictures.

Pattern:  Traveling Woman Shawl
Yarn:   Gale’s Art BFL Handspun
Started:  August 16, 2010
Finished:  September 1, 2010

I really like the shawl, and of course, using hand-spun was great.  I don’t normally use highly variegated yarns for shawls, but I think this pattern worked with it – the pattern doesn’t get lost in the stripes.   It really looks sort of Noro-ish doesn’t it?    It isn’t super soft, but it’s wearable – I tried it this morning, and didn’t have an issue with it around my neck (I really cropped the picture because I hadn’t showered!).

2569

This was a great project to take on vacation – the pattern is very easy, and I was able to put it down and pick it up quickly depending on what we were doing without any trouble.  We had a very long ride down to Virginia, and this kept me entertained for a long time.  Even the boring bits of the pattern weren’t too bad because I was enjoying the color changes in the yarn (as well as the feel of it!).

2564

I think I’m going to keep this  rather than giving it away as I planned when I started it – I think it will add a  little something to a plain white shirt in the fall and be a nice warm scarf to wear in the winter.  I will also like it because it made it start to finish (well, almost start to finish since someone else dyed the roving!), and it was so nice to use handspun that I think  it will motivate me to finish whatever I’m currently spinning.

I’ve been really busy since my last post, and I’ll post some pictures next time from my vacation.  I didn’t get to one yarn store on vacation – I think that’s a first but we didn’t have the time for anything like that.  I did start a new project, and hopefully I’ll have pictures of that soon.

We are working on going through the house and getting rid of things we don’t use.  We are planning on a yard sale in early October, and today we did the basement.  I really can’t believe how much stuff we had down there.  Boxes that we hadn’t opened since we moved in 7 years ago, toys, games, empty cans of paint.  We had a huge pile of things to sell – and an equally huge pile of things to throw out.  But it felt good to get through it all.  Except for the HUGE spiders we kept on encountering (I am not a fan).   Next weekend we are tackling the attic and I think I’m also going to go through my project and yarn stash too.  I have a couple of projects that I haven’t worked on in a while that I need to either frog or finish (I’m leaning towards frogging).   And I want to go through the stash and make sure I only have yarn that I know I’ll use – no point in keeping things that I don’t like.   All of this organizing and decluttering really feels good!  And it makes me never want to buy anything again!

OK, I’m off to play with the dogs – it’s a beautiful day here and I want to get out for a bit.  Have a good weekend!

24 Responses to Traveling Woman – Handspun Version

  1. Valerie says:

    Oh wow! I liked the yarn and it’s even more beautiful knit up! I really should make myself another traveling woman – I do love the pattern.

  2. Monika says:

    Your shawl turned out lovely! I love knitting with handspun too. I had the same thoughts and feeling, when we cleaned out our house for the renovations. I don’t want to ever clutter the house again!

  3. kim says:

    I think it’s so awesome that you knit something out of yarn you spun yourself. It’s lovely and you should definitely keep it for yourself.

    We’ve only been in our house a year and I already want to pare down and get rid of unused stuff, as is my typical style. I love freeing myself of clutter. :)

  4. Anne says:

    Love your handspun handknit shawl – gorgeous!

    We earlier this year did a big clean out (in preparation for a move that hasn’t happened yet) and I totally agree with you — we have enough stuff — no more stuff — makes me think twice now when I see something and say – isn’t that anice – nice but it’s not coming home with me.

  5. Denise says:

    Love it. I had some problems with that Traveling Woman – messed it up in the beginning but I have some nice yarn I got last year at Rhinebeck that I am going to try again.

    Last day up here in Maine for a bit – we had quite a crowd, my brother and his family, and golf buddy Brendan and his family, everyone heading out today.

    I am definately going to the Jersey sheep and wool this year. Is it only one day? We should meet up for sure!

  6. I’m so glad you’re keeping the shawl. It’s just so special that you spun the yarn. I agree that variegated yarn is often wrong for shawls, but the colors in this yarn are muted enough to look perfect.

  7. Rachel says:

    Beautiful shawl! :)

  8. rhoda says:

    wow. that is absolutely gorgeous! nice striping too. :) you have a way with the handspun. ;) good luck getting rid of stuff!

  9. Rhonda says:

    Oh my, that is pretty.

  10. Louise says:

    The shawl turned out great!!

  11. donna lee says:

    There is something really cool about knitting with your handspun. I love the travelling woman pattern. It’s easy enough to memorize and seems to move quickly. I made one for a gift and now want to make one for myself.

  12. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I think that is the nicest Travelling Woman I have ever seen.

    Nothing better than a clear out, is there?

  13. Steven says:

    Wow — beautiful! I’m very impressed. Also, I’m impressed with your go-getting attitude toward clearing out clutter. I’m inspired!

  14. kitkatknit says:

    I have you beat by a month! I haven’t blogged since July 14 and that was only because my MIL complained.

    Love your Traveling Woman. Any idea how many yards you used and what WPI your handspun was/is?

  15. Stephanie says:

    Welcome back! :) I’ve been working on a Traveling Woman as well, but I think I’m going to frog mine because it’s not as thick and large as I’d like it to be. (I have a huge skein of sock yarn and I’d like to use more of it than Traveling Woman seems to take.) Yours looks fabulous though. The stripes line up so well.

  16. Shea says:

    I love the way it looks knitted up. I’ve already queued this pattern on Ravelry and can’t wait to try it.

  17. Rebekah says:

    Oh its beautiful! It looks great with the varigated yarn. You definitely have to keep it.

  18. Elspeth says:

    I feel that way too – I’m so tired of keeping stuff around, and my stash, even, seems like an anchor. I really don’t want to buy more stuff!

    Traveling Woman is gorgeous!

  19. Oiyi says:

    Beautiful use of your handspun!

    Yeah, our packing and decluttering continues. I can’t believe how much stuff we have in this small 2 bedroom apartment. I did a good of hiding away stuff!! I donated a big bag of yarn to a friend and to Salvation Army. Plus over 200 books. I never want to buy anything again, too. But I know that won’t happen. It’s just made me realize that we should go through the house and declutter every year.

  20. Anna Bright says:

    That is SO pretty! I don’t blame you for keeping it for yourself!

  21. Chris says:

    Really Pretty! I know what you mean – this must be the season to de-clutter!

  22. hakucho says:

    Your shawl is gorgeous!! It must really feel good to make something from scratch. Love everything about it. Good for you with all your cleaning out…we need to do that too :)

  23. lucette says:

    very impressed with your handspun shawl. And the clearing out is such a big job… am slowly working on that one too.

  24. Kim says:

    Your shawl is beautiful and very Noro-ish (without the knots). Isn’t it so satisfying to make something so beautiful from your very own handspun?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.