Crayon Box

Do you remember this?

2511

Now it’s this

2536

I took advantage of a rainy Sunday afternoon to spin a little, and I not only finished the singles for this, but I plied it all up.  I’m very happy with it, and I am really looking forward to using it.

Roving:  4 oz. Gale’s Art, 100% blue faced leicester, colorway Crayon Box
Weight:  Fingering
Yardage:  362 yards

2532

I have to say I’m pretty pleased with how even the yarn is – I only had a few small sections where it wasn’t consistently the same and a bit blurpy – and usually that happened when I first sat down to spin each session while I was getting back into, but overall it’s pretty consistent and I’m happy that I’m doing better.  Now I need to spin some 2 ply  laceweight!

I initially thought of using this for socks – I love  socks made from handspun  - there is something so comforting to me about them.  But this isn’t superwash, and I’ve learned that non-superwash socks and me just don’t go together  - I just  threw out a bunch of socks that had felted or shrunk from either going in the wash by mistake or not being hand washed  correctly.  I don’t want to waste this yarn then by making socks that I know will end up getting messed up.  So I decided on a shawl.   I did spend a little time on Ravelry this afternoon looking at patterns, and I think I may do another Traveling Woman shawl with it.  I think it will be beautiful and very cheery colors for the winter.   It’s the perfect yardage and I think the pattern will be able to handle the variegated yarn.  Any other ideas?

2539

I still have to soak the yarn and dry it – its mostly balanced; just a little off so I think a little weight on it while drying will fix that.  I am going to do it in a little bit  - but it’s so rainy and humid here I think it will take a while to dry.  I’m hoping that it will be dry and ready by tomorrow night though; I’m leaving for a business trip on Tuesday to Tampa, and I thought I’d take it along with me.  I  have other things to work on but I just can’t resist the lure of this yarn!  I don’t know if I’ll have a lot of knitting time, but I know I’ll at least have flying/airport/hotel time, so it will be a good distraction.    And I did finish one old project this week, so I think it’s ok to start a new.

I’m not looking forward to this week – in addition to traveling, I need to get a million things done because I’ll be off work the following week.  I love taking vacations but sometimes it’s hard because of all the work before – and the stuff that I know I’ll be coming back to.  But I am looking forward to being off for a bit – and getting away from everything.  We have scheduled most of our time in Williamsburg (I’m most  happy when I have a schedule) and I’m looking forward to everything we are going to do.  Just have to get through this week!  I think I will have a post later this week to show you the project I finished – it took so long that I’m embarrassed to list the stats.

OK, I’m going to go –  a little knitting time, and maybe looking through the roving stash for the next project.  Have a great week!

17 Responses to Crayon Box

  1. Chris says:

    Beautiful yarn! I think that shawl would look very nice with it. Safe trip – enjoy your vacation!

  2. Rachel says:

    I love your yarn, very pretty indeed! and I think it will make a lovely traveling woman, go for it.

    I hope your week will pass fast and painless and then you will have a great vacation :)

  3. Steven says:

    I’m stunned at your spinning skills. This yarn is really bright and beautiful!

  4. Your homespun is to dye for. (I know,terrible pun.) I think a shawl is a better use for such lovely yarn. That way more people will see and appreciate it.

  5. That’s so pretty! Well done. No suggestions on the pattern yet…

    Happy vacay!

  6. Anne says:

    Oh dear – this is gorgeous! I love the bright colourway. How much yarn did this spin up to — I have no idea about spinning at all — just wondering how you can tell how much yarn you are going to get from whatever you start out spinning with.

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I love the colors- that will make a wonderful, TW.

    This week will go fast- Williamsburg sounds fascinating.

  8. Rhonda says:

    Very lovely, some day I too will try the spin.

  9. rebekahsyarn says:

    Oh I love it, probably because I love crayons. I’d make a hat out of it, because its bright and cheery. But a shawl would be wonderful too.

  10. Shea says:

    So pretty and the colors look like candy! I love it.

  11. rhoda says:

    SO very pretty!

  12. Kim says:

    beautiful spinning! I don’t notice overly purple sections, but if you don’t like them just take them out when you are knitting. This will make a beautiful shawl.

  13. brokeknits says:

    Beautiful! It will make a gorgeous shawl!

  14. hakucho says:

    Guess I have been away from blogging for too long! You are spinning….lucky girl :) Your spun yarn looks fabulous…I can’t wait to see what you knit with it. Can you tell I’m a tad jealous…I’ve always wanted to try spinning, but I don’t think it’s in the cards for me. Maybe in my next life ;)

    happy spinning and knitting :)

  15. kim says:

    Amazing spinning. You really do have some mad skilz! Can’t wait to see that knit into something spectacular.

  16. Valerie says:

    Ooh I like that yarn!

  17. craftivore says:

    So crazy pretty. “Blurpy”, I love that adjective.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.