Ten on Tuesday

I signed up for Ten on Tuesday a month ago, but always seem to miss doing this on a Tuesday – but I had to do this week’s topic, Ten Things to Bring on Vacation, because I’m really ready for a vacation!

  1. Knitting.  No matter where we go on vacation, I bring my knitting.  Usually a couple of projects or three or four.  Like socks, shawls, sweaters – just in case I get a burst of knitting energy and finish 3 projects.    This year I think I’ll just bring one…well, maybe two.
  2. Golf clubs. Since I started golfing a couple of years ago, we always bring our clubs and try to get one or two games in.   This year we already have tee times booked, and I’m looking forward to it!
  3. Books.  I always bring one book with me because I don’t read as much as I’d like to normally, and vacation gives me a little more time for it.
  4. Clothes.  As in too many.  I always overpack.  I hate the thought of not having enough clothes, and enough options so I typically have way more than I need.
  5. Shoes.  See #4.  Same thing.  Always have to have options.
  6. Money.  We like to eat out and shop on vacation, so I always bring a little extra.
  7. Names and addresses of local yarn stores.  I know, but I can’t help it.  I always find out what is around and plan a small side trip.  See #6.
  8. Snacks.  I also like to bring snacks from home for at night, the drive or just whenever.  Not too much – and generally something that isn’t heatlhy.
  9. Alcohol.  Speaking of unhealthy – we usually bring a little wine or martini fixin’s.  This year we will bring both!
  10. iPhone.  This probably doesn’t count because I always have it with me, but I can’t imagine going on vacation without it.  I keep in touch, look up things and keep in touch with the kids.

When I was thinking about what I bring on vacation, I also thought about what I’m not bringing on vacation this year…the kids!  Larry and I are going on vacation alone this year – I wasn’t sure initially, but it just worked out that way.  It is the first time haven’t  had a family vacation, but although I’ll miss them, I’m ok with it.  We are going to Williamsburg, Virginia, and I’m looking forward to having some down time with Larry.  We are golfing and I can’t wait to go to Colonial Williamsburg – I’ve always wanted to go.  We are going in three weeks, and I am counting the days already.

I’ve been knitting a bit this week – I went back to a pair of socks that I had started months ago.  I had finished the first one, and had started the second but just stopped knitting them.  Its been so long since I made socks that I forgot about the heel – so I just kept on knitting and knitting – and now they are too long  and I think I’m going to have to frog them back a bit so that they match the first one.  Sigh. I’m already unmotivated about them because I don’t like the pooling that is happening, and now this – I feel like ditching them and starting something new.  We’ll see – I hate to not finish a pair and they are for my sister but….

I got a package in the mail today that I thought I’d share…

2525

Isn’t that pretty?   Wandering Cats Slinky Cat which is a merino/silk blend.  The colorway is Peacock and I just couldn’t resist.  This is 870 yards of fingering weight, and it will be perfect for a shawl.  I’m not sure what pattern yet – but I can’t wait to start it!

OK, I guess I’ll go frog my socks – have a great week!

18 Responses to Ten on Tuesday

  1. The new yarn is really pretty! I’m a sucker for peacocks; they’re such gorgeous creatures.

    I’m torn about vacationing with/without kids. Trying to plan December…

    Your list makes a lot of sense to me. And my new iPhone is on its way!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Have a great vacation! I like the addition of the knitting, books, and golf clubs. :) Good leisurely activities.

  3. Valerie says:

    I have a tendency to pack too much clothing/shoes too. But wouldn’t it stink if you went somewhere and didn’t have the right outfit?
    Glad you like the yarn – I finished my shawl in Peacock last night. It’s blocking now

  4. Oiyi says:

    Have fun on vacation! Don’t show more pretty yarn!!

    We recently got back from the Jersey Shore. I managed not to bring too much clothes for me and Melody and yet we still didn’t wear everything! So I guess I did overpack. :-)

    I have always wanted to learn to play golf. We were house hunting in NJ over the weekend and kept seeing golf courses. I jokingly said to my husband I will take up golf if we moved there.

  5. I LOVE Colonial Williamsburg. Because one of my brothers lives there, I go often. Because of the heat this summer, attendance has been poor, so you may not have to wait in a lot of lines.

    So here’s my advice: Start early before it gets too hot! The locals eat at Paul’s (near CW). They don’t go to the restaurants in CW itself, but I recommend doing so. Just make sure you have reservations if possible. It’s touristy, but lots of fun!

    While you’re roaming CW, pick up some corn bread to munch on. It’s amazing.

    For breakfast, check out Aroma’s, a coffee shop at the edge of CW. To cool off, get to Snow To Go Or Rita’s. These are very Williamsburg. They serve gourmet-ish snowcones.

    Jamestown is amazing — and has a large, air-conditioned museum. Definitely plan on spending a half-day there.

    Park and use the shuttle. There is nowhere to park near CW!

    Let me know if you have any questions!

  6. donna lee says:

    I love that color! Just beautiful.

    I always take too many clothes as well. And too much knitting. I like my options, too!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Colonial Williamsburg sounds so interesting. Are you going to Washington as well?

  8. kim says:

    Sounds like a fabulous vacation. Just enjoy this time and relax…

  9. Rebekah says:

    See now I think it should be 10 things not to bring on vacation, of course for me that would include a cell phone and my computer. I love getting away from technology. :-)

  10. Rhonda says:

    Oh, a vacation sounds wonderful, and a spot I would love to see one day. My vacation is coming in a couple of weeks too, but I fear there will not be much knitting. The rugrats are coming oh, I meant granddaughters.

  11. Steven says:

    Have fun on your vacation! I’m totally jealous and can totally identify with you list. You two have fun!

  12. Shea says:

    That colorway is fabulous. I had two pairs of socks that I finally gave up on. Evidently I’m not enough in the “sock frame of mind” to finish them.

  13. opal says:

    i envy your iPhone! i’m so tempted to upgrade my phone and get a blackberry so i too can keep in touch while i’m away from home. you wouldn’t believe how obsessively i check my email. it’s shameful. *L*

    that yarn is gorgeous!

  14. brokeknits says:

    Oh no, sorry to hear about the socks. Sometimes it just works out that way. But at least you have lovely new yarn!

  15. Anna says:

    The peacock yarn is gorgeous! You should check out Wendy Knits, she’s got a KAL of a new Pi shawl design in honor of EZ’s 100th birtday. I usually don’t “do” KALs, but have been meaning to make myself a Pi for a while, & happen to have a busload of sport weight prettiness begging to become a shawl. I had thought it would be a feather & fan stole, but now it wants to be a Pi!

  16. craftivore says:

    Wow, a vacation without the kids… that sounds like a dream to me.

  17. Louise says:

    Sounds like you are well prepared for vacation. We always need to take more than one knitting project with us. What happens if you loose a dpn, or forget the pattern for a project? We have to be prepared with back up ones! Could you imagine going away and not being able to knit!!

  18. Denise says:

    As a person who always packs too many clothes, for this vacation I laid out all the clothes I would normally take, and then I put half of them away. You know what? I don’t have enough clothes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.