My quilt!

I didn’t make this, it isn’t knitting, but I just had to show it off…

2492

Isn’t that gorgeous?  It’s my new quilt, and my sister made it for me!  She started quilting a couple of years ago, and offered to make me one.  I picked out the materials in January – it was so hard!  I finally understood why people who don’t knit have such a hard time envisioning projects and yarn choices – she took me to her quilt store and I was completely overwhelmed by all the pattern and fabric choices.  But someone who worked there helped us, and I picked out all the material.   My sister started it a few months ago, and kept on telling me how nice it was – and today I saw it for myself when I picked it up.  Its beautiful – I can’t get a good picture of the whole thing – its huge!  But it looks beautiful on the bed, and is perfect for the room – we picked shades of green for the walls, and all of the colors in the quilt just stand out.

star

I can’t decide on what my favorite block is – but this one is in the top two – I love the black and pink combo.  In fact, I think all of the black in the quilt just add a little bit of something different.  It really is amazing – I’m not a quilter (I can’t sew period) so it’s just amazing to me that she took all of this fabric and created something like this.  She’s very creative and is so passionate about quilting that its fun to listen to her.  And of course, its great to get the end product!    Thanks, sis!

I haven’t been knitting a lot this week – I’ve been having some medical issues that just made me really tired and just not up to it.  But when I could, I did work on the Aeslight shawl a little and I’m up to the lace border.   I’m really enjoying it, and I hope that the meds that I’m taking get me back to normal quickly – I really want to finish this section and get to the edging!

I also want to finish the shawl because I have the yarn for my next project….

2509

Isn’t that pretty?  It’s from Wandering Cat and I just couldn’t resist the colorway!  I am not sure what I’m going to make with it – it’s 400 yards of fingering, but I am sure I’ll find something for it.  Definitely a shawl though – and I can’t wait to start using it!

I’ve been spinning a lot this weekend, and I’m just about done with the roving I’m spinning.  I’m trying to decide if I should Navajo ply it, or if I should just ply it like I always do.  I’ve only done Navajo plying once when I was learning – and my teacher was there.  I’ve watched some videos of it online, and it looks fairly easy – but then again, I can also see me really messing up the yarn, so I may take the easy way out and just two ply it.   I’m really loving the spinning though – it feels so good to get back into it!   I should have some new yarn to show next time – and some new roving that I just had to get.

OK, I’m off to get some knitting in – have a great week!

24 Responses to My quilt!

  1. Denise says:

    That quilt is beautiful. I have dabbled in quilting myself – I made a patchwork quilt the summer after high school to take away to college (I also knitted myself a navy blue cardigan that summer, from a pattern from Glamour Magazine). I recently found myself in City Quilts on 25th St and 7th Ave and I am thinking of doing some quilting when we are in Maine at the end of August.

    Quilting is a worse time sucker than knitting though, what will I have to give up to add that to my day? Showering?

  2. Valerie says:

    Love, love, love the quilt. Homemade quilts are the best. I have two mom made me when I was about 13. Both are falling apart now (too much love) but I refuse to give them up!

    Hope you’re feeling up to par soon!

  3. chloe says:

    Thank God there are quilters — so I won’t have to. That beautiful quilt your sister made has me both totally in awe and totally worn out from the thought of all that work. I used to sew (clothing, not quilts) but am so glad I discovered knitting. It’s also satisfying and creative and you can do it on the couch.

  4. Rachel says:

    Beautiful! Enjoy.

    I can’t sew either. Period. Ms. Kaplan my wicked crafts teacher in elementary school is my excuse, what is yours? :)

  5. I LOVE the quilt! That’s really sweet that she made it for you.

  6. Chris says:

    Wow – that is a stunning quilt!!! Your sister is quite talented! Beautiful yarn, too!

  7. donna lee says:

    I have always wanted to make a quilt but don’t have the space to spread it out. Well, didn’t have the space. Now I have a spare room and just have to find the time/money/materials to turn it into a crafting room with a nice big table.

    Your sister made such a beautiful quilt for you. What a gift.

  8. Kim says:

    What a wonderful gift! Your quilt is gorgeous.

    Try to Navajo ply – you can do it! A fellow spinner sent me You Tube links that were wonderful and I am going to forward them to you. I was able to accomplish it the first time.

  9. Anna says:

    The quilt is stunning! What a lovely sister to make that for you! The new yarn looks good too… Hope you feel better soon, by the way.

  10. Cookie says:

    Very pretty quilt!

    You’re spinning? Yay!

  11. Stephanie says:

    How amazing! You’re so lucky to receive such a beautiful quilt. :) I’m hoping to learn a little about quilting as I learn to sew, myself. Though I bet it’ll be years before I can make something like that! Wow!

  12. Steven says:

    The quilt is gorgeous! How lucky to have such fiber and fabric talent in your family. I’m sure it will keep you extra cozy for all that. Hope you’re feeling better.

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- This is very topical, as I hope to reveal a scrap quilt I’ve been working on.

    That is amazing work- and I think that block is called Ohio Star. What a treasure.

  14. Rebekah says:

    Wow! That is gorgeous, your sister is very talented.

  15. opal says:

    your quilt is gorgeous! what a great job your sister did.

    i hope you feel better soon. being sick is no fun. :(

  16. Oiyi says:

    I love it! What a wonderful quilt. Err…now it reminds me that I still haven’t made my sister her quilt yet. And she even chose all the fabric for it. Whoops!

  17. I can’t think of a nicer gift. It’s just beautiful.

    I try to stay away from quilting. I don’t think I could quilt and knit and hold down a job! And I do so like having a regular paycheck!

  18. katie m. says:

    The quilt is lovely! What a nice, nice gift from your sister. And that yarn is super pretty … I can’t wait to see the shawl you choose.

  19. weezalana says:

    That is such a fantastic quilt! I want to make my first quilt this year, but it’s going to be a looooong while before I get that intricate.

    Sending good health vibes and hoping you feel better soon!

  20. rhoda says:

    the quilt is beautiful! :) the wandering cat yarn you picked up is quite lovely too.

  21. Susie says:

    That quilt is gorgeous! It makes me wanna learn to sew so I can make myself one because they’re prohibitively expensive.

  22. craftivore says:

    Wow, you lucky girl! You must be a very special sister to get such a wonderful gift. I have a quilt that I started for my sister ages ago that I need to pull and finish.

  23. madalyn says:

    It’s a beautiful quilt!

  24. kim says:

    Ah, so you’re not the only talented one in the family. That is quite beautiful. Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.