Happy 2009!

I can’t believe that 2008 is over, and that its 2009 – last year went so fast!  We celebrated the new year quietly, and on New Year’s my sister came over and we had an amazing meal (if I do say so myself) – pulled pork, black eyed peas, grits, cornbread, salad.  I think its become our New Year’s tradition to have Southern food, and this year was quite good.  I had off yesterday, so its been a very relaxing start to the new year. 

So 2009 – I always make resolutions – knitting and other.  Our best resolution was two years ago when we quit smoking (yea!), and even last year’s we followed through by eating much healthier and eating in more often.   I like to have goals each year – I  like the feeling that I’ve thought about my life, and that I have something I want to work on.  I can’t say that I’ve always hit all of mine – but I usually accomplish most of them in some way.  My resolutions this year are (well, some of them – I have a couple of private ones!):

1.  Exercise more!  I don’t want to “diet” – I’m tired of constantly focusing on food, being hungry, counting points, being deprived.  So I’m going to continue to eat healthy, and just add some exercise.  Shooting for three days a week minimum , so this should be do-able!  I am also trying to really cut down the amount of sugar I have every day (I suppose it would have been better had I not had creme brulee for dessert last night!).

2.  Work hard to take better care of my relationships – spouse, kids, family, friends, pets, you name it!  I think its easy to get into ruts and become complacent about things, so this is the year that I’m going to try and be a better wife, mother, sister, friend, pet owner, etc.

3.  Volunteer.  I have wanted to volunteer for a couple of years now, but haven’t done it.  So I need to just do it – I think I’d like to do something with the elderly, and there are plenty of opportunities around here. 

Knitting wise – I just have a couple – I really want to do a fair isle sweater this year (carry over from last year), and learn to do toe up socks.  Other than that, I just want to enjoy the craft, and not stress about it too much.  I’d like to keep my current WIP’s at a manageable number (which I’ve been doing pretty well on) so that I finish projects in a reasonable time.  Oh, and I’d like to use up some of my stash – and I have a great plan for that, but more on that next time.

So enough about me – what about you?  Do you have any resolutions? 

OK, enough about that – as I mentioned, I’ve recently started spinning again – so I have something done that I started a while ago…

1113

This was from 4.2 oz of 100% Merino Roving from Three By Hand  – the colorway is Dandelion.  This was gorgeous roving to work with, and I really liked the colors.  I started this in the summer sometime – and had a bobbin full of singles.  I could really see the difference in my spinning when I restarted this a week ago – I was really inconsistent and needed some time to relearn the motions. 

1114

I don’t think this is the best I’ve spun, but I was really happy with it – and happy to clear the bobbins.  This is a DK-Sport weight, and about 280 yards.  I’m thinking another cowl – the perfect solution for a small amount of handspun!

Once I finished the merino, I spun up a very small braid of roving I bought at the fiber festival in PA this year. 

1121

This was 2 oz of 100% superwash Merino – the colorway is Cappuccino.  When I bought this, I got comments from friends from knitting group that it was a terrible colorway, but I knew that it would be beautiful once it was spun…I don’t know about cappuccino though – it really reminds me of hot cocoa with marshmallows. 

1122

I spun and plied this up in a day – only 2 oz, and I ended up with a fingering weight and 120 yards.  Not sure what I’ll do with it – but I’m sure I’ll find something.  Its so soft, and I think the colors are pretty.

Once we put the Christmas stuff away, we’ll be rearranging the family room, and moving my wheel into it.  I hope that gives me more of an opportunity to spin – I had forgotten how much I enjoy it, and how relaxing it is.

OK, well, I should get going.  I’m going to the gym this morning (see #1 above).  Have a wonderful weekend!  And if you have resolutions, good luck!

22 Responses to Happy 2009!

  1. Jeannie says:

    Happy New Year! I try not to make resolutions because I’m bad at keeping them. I do plan on trying to knit more of my stash and with patterns that I already have.

    Your yarn is so pretty. The brown one does look like a cappucino to me–with lots of foam on top. Yummmm.

  2. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Good goals you have there, and not unreasonable to accomplish.

    I am resisting the temptation of Etsy.

  3. kim says:

    Oh, that yarn is gorgeous. Truly.

  4. Cookie says:

    Good goals and lovely yarns!

  5. Suzanne says:

    I have gone back to the gym too! I plan to go at least 3 times a week. I am also trying to eat healthy. I gave up sugar about a month ago.

    The yarn is BEAUTIFUL!!! Happy New Year!

  6. Happy New Year! Best of luck with all your resolutions, they seem very doable :)

  7. Lauren says:

    Tha Cappuccino looks delish. i take back all my rude remarks made at the time of purchase! ;)

  8. chris says:

    Admirable goals! I need to exercise and I’m making that my number one goal this year.

    The spinning looks wonderful – both of them!

  9. Ren says:

    happy new year! : )

  10. Anna says:

    Happy New Year! I like your resolutions – I rarely make any myself. The yarn is fabulous too!

  11. Theresa says:

    That yarn is gorgeous. I remember that fiber from the festival and you spun it wonderfully. I cannot believe it is the same fiber. I think it is time for me to start spinning again. Happy New Year!!

  12. Susie says:

    Happy New Year! Great resolutions I must say. Also I love the green yarn. It’s gorgeous!

  13. Opal says:

    beautiful handspun, jeanne! happy new year to you and yours!

  14. Elise says:

    Happy 2009! I wish you a wonderful new year and can’t wait to see you next week! Great goal setting by the way..I need to come up with some.

  15. brokeknits says:

    Gorgeous yarn! Good luck with your resolutions — they sound very worthwhile!

  16. rhoda says:

    i’m with you…where did 2008 go?? good luck with the resolutions. you’ve got some good ones. :) love, love, love the dandelion handspun. those are my colors! So bright and cheery. :)

  17. valerie says:

    Those are some great resolutions! I really like the green yarn!

  18. Kim says:

    Beautiful handspun!

    I had so many new things in my life that I simply resolve to embrace everything and do the best that I can. Yes, I’ve been eating too much, but the food is incredible and I DID tour a healthclub this week…

  19. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful handspun!

    I’d like to knit a fair isle sweater in 2009 too. I have a Philosopher’s Wool kit marinating for a couple of years in the stash that would be perfect too.

  20. lilypily says:

    Happy New Year to you Jeanne! I hope 2009 is full of wonderful things for you all and lots of great yarn and patterns for you too. Enjoy. Oh, and good for you with the exercise resolution. It’s one of mine too – as always.

  21. tiennie says:

    Happy 2009 to you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.